This World: poetry podcast #10

I couldn’t resist, and so I have another poem by Mary Oliver for you today! Oh, her poetry reminds me, and reminds me again of how I want to live.

Listen here:

{listen to previous podcasts}

And here is the text of the poem I read in today’s podcast:

This World
by Mary Oliver

I would like to write a poem about the world that has in it
nothing fancy.
But it seems impossible.
Whatever the subject, the morning sun
glimmers it.
The tulip feels the heat and flaps its petals open
and becomes a star.
The ants bore into the peony bud and there is the dark
pinprick well of sweetness.
As for the stones on the beach, forget it.
Each one could be set in gold.
So I tried with my eyes shut, but of course the birds
were singing.
And the aspen trees were shaking the sweetest music
out of their leaves.
And that was followed by, guess what, a momentous and
beautiful silence
as comes to all of us, in little earfuls, if we’re not too
hurried to hear it.
As for the spiders, how the dew hangs in their webs
even if they say nothing, or seem to say nothing.
So fancy is the word, who knows, maybe they sing.
So fancy is the world, who knows, maybe the stars sing too,
and the ants, and the peonies, and the warm stones,
so happy to be where they are, on the beach, instead of being
locked up in gold.

(from Why I Wake Early or New and Selected Poems: Volume Two)

5 Responses to “This World: poetry podcast #10”


  1. 1 kseverny February 19, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    this is beautiful.
    What a talented person

  2. 2 rachel awes February 20, 2010 at 5:43 am

    i loooove this too!! i used to have it hangin’ on my frig!
    stars and stones and sweetness to you…

  3. 3 Kerri February 21, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    Oh I LOVE her so much!

  4. 4 Googlover February 24, 2010 at 7:06 am

    Mary Oliver is such a wonderful poet. Thanks for sharing this. Her attention to life’s details is so refreshing and inspiring.

  5. 5 Geoff M. Pope February 24, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    “…if we’re not too
    hurried to hear it.”

    Thank you for listening
    so closely
    and speaking poetically
    to us
    with all your calm being.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 341 other followers

Archives


