A New Creative Kit!

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you may remember my Monthly Art Club, a new thing I started this past November. I haven’t mentioned it here since this past November because, in the month or two after I started it, from seeing people’s reactions to it (and my own), I decided that there might be a better evolution of the idea.

Mainly, I wanted to provide a creative entry point for people and inspire them to add a little more creativity and fun to their days. I realized, this could be better accomplished (both by me, and by the recipients) if, instead of a monthly club, I created a series of creative kits on different topics that I could offer consistently (instead of ever-changing, as the monthly club idea was).

This was a long way of saying: I just finished the first kit in what will hopefully become a series of creative kits. This one is called “The Everyday Creative Kit” and is a little packet chock-full of creative ideas, including a workbook of creative exercises that I’ve been working on. You can find this kit for sale here in my shop, but here’s a tour for you!

The kit comes packaged in an envelope handmade by me, out of this lovely natural-colored paper with gold butterflies.

The kit includes: My Everyday Creative Field Guide workbook, a packet of creative odds and ends (handmade paper scraps, magazine clippings, etc), three art mini prints/postcards (“Live Creatively,” “Make Things,” and “Seed”), and two blank squares of watercolor paper (for art projects).

Here’s a peek inside my Everyday Creative Field Guide:

This book has 24 hand-drawn and illustrated black and white pages with creative exercises and even pages to color! It was loads of fun to create, and you will see from that coloring picture that the pyramids I was talking about yesterday, started here in this book. There are a bunch of other exercises in the book that will have you getting creative in your brain and in your body!

As you might know, creativity is something that is really important to me—not just in my art-making life, but more, the idea that everyone can be creative. I think that it’s really unfortunate how we lose a lot of our creative play when we “grow up,” and really we still need it—as an outlet, as a way of getting outside the boxes of our adult lives, as mind-freeing time and exercise. This kit is my answer to that. For a fuller description, check out the listing in my shop, or leave a comment/question on this post!

I hope to make more kits with other focuses—perhaps a food-themed one? Or a kit about dreaming? If you have any ideas or requests, I’d love to hear them! I’m not sure when the next kit will come out, but stay tuned!

9 Responses to “A New Creative Kit!”


  1. 1 chelsea February 10, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    wowza! this looks amazing!

  2. 2 rachel awes February 10, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    this kit looks amazing & love that golden butterflies seal it. magic wings to you…

  3. 3 Michelle, When I Grow Up Coach February 10, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    So, so awesome Nicole! Love this to pieces. Whadda great idea!

  4. 4 linda February 11, 2010 at 2:45 am

    Ooo, cool idea…there’s something cool about being part of a club haha!

  5. 5 rachel awes February 11, 2010 at 3:23 am

    nicole, would you be open to sending me a brief email about what materials you ship your prints in?/i want to open an etsy shop and keep the shipping cost down for people and yet keep the prints in tip top shape. i really loooove what you do. my hands are full of oranges that thank you.

  6. 6 Mike McLaren February 11, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    What a great book! Good luck with it on Etsy!

  7. 7 Hijiri February 12, 2010 at 11:30 am

    (let’s try this again,,, :P)

    oh wow, this sounds awesome!!! LOOOOVE the lettering and hand-written pages! Nice work, Nicole!!!


  1. 1 GIVEAWAY!! Win one of my Everyday Creative Kits! « blue bicicletta Trackback on February 18, 2010 at 9:51 am
  2. 2 It’s a Striped World: NEW: Abstract Coloring Book!! « blue bicicletta Trackback on June 14, 2010 at 10:33 am

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


