Two Kings

A new drawing for you today:

“Two Kings,” 8 x 10 inches, available in my shop {click image above for a larger view}

While you probably can’t tell from the image here (computer, etc), I have used a “new” medium with this drawing. I’ve been having some frustrations with the Copic markers that I normally use to get my solid blacks—for some reason they keep running out of ink really quickly lately. I’ve been using these markers for over a year now, so I don’t think I’m imagining it. I’ve been looking for other markers, but haven’t been happy with the options. So I decided to give liquid ink another try.

I tried some China/India Ink from Sennelier a while ago, and wasn’t happy with the glossy finish, so I tried out some Japanese Black Sumi Ink from Yasutomo this time. I am extremely pleased with the results—the ink is deep black with a matte finish, and worked really well with both calligraphy tips and paint brushes. From my brief research, “sumi-e” is the Japanese word for East Asian ink and wash painting.

I’m still a novice, and learning how to get the right amount of ink on the pen tip, but I’m quite happy with the results so far. The main challenge is being careful and having patience so as not to smear the wet ink. The final drawing here is actually try #2 because I smeared the words at the very last minute on the first drawing. But what fun it is to work with wet ink—there is a wonderful richness to it! I don’t think I will be converting to this medium 100% because fine line pens are a bit easier to control, but I think I will continue with the liquid ink on select projects.

I feel like this drawing is also beginning somewhat of a new series. It has kind of a storybook/fairytale feel to me, and I have some ideas for some more drawings in this vein. We’ll see where it goes. I am on a complete high right now from having finished it without smearing, and being happy with the finished drawing. It’s the little things! Happy making!

7 Responses to “Two Kings”


  1. 1 Malea January 25, 2010 at 11:28 am

    I love this piece! I haven’t used this kind of medium…yet…I’ve been too afraid I’d smear my pieces at the end. I already do that enough with other mediums! I’ve also never used Copic markers either due to the cost. If they run out of ink that quickly I’d be pretty upset. Hmmm….

  2. 2 artproject2010 January 25, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    You’re so insightful, Nicole! One of these days, all your work will be flying off your shelves. I fully expect you to have syndication deals as soon as the right eyeballs come across your work. Additionally, I am amazed that you were able to get such precision with sumi ink! I’m pretty much amazed at all precision since I’m bad at it in general, really, but when I used sumi it was always with a bushy brush in a big washy way, so this is great! I love the way paper sucks up sumi, like it’s oxygen and the paper needs it.

  3. 3 bluebicicletta January 25, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    Thanks ladies! Precision is not my strong point–it really isn’t–which is especially hilarious due to the work I make. It surely keeps me on my toes. I don’t want to completely badmouth Copic markers, because truthfully, I love them—but for some strange reason, the all of those that I’ve bought in the past 6 weeks seem to have run out of ink much faster than usual. Not sure what’s up. Just noticed on the Copic website that you can buy ink to refill the markers. Before this ink issue, I would have rhapsodized about Copic markers—great blacks, great tips, wonderful. Not sure what’s up lately.

  4. 4 jaja January 25, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    WOW. I love this piece as well!! always amazed to see what you’re doing next, bb….

  5. 5 rachel awes January 26, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    i love how the crown evolved inward!! & love your art as well!! soooo delightful to visit again!!! best & brightest to your inside lovely crown!

  6. 7 Marisa January 29, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    Hi Nicole! I love this drawing and the sentiment. You’ve also peaked my interest on trying some Japanese ink. Looks very fun! And thank you so much for always taking time to visit and say hello over at my blog. It’s always a treat to hear from you! xoxo


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 344 other followers

Archives


