Finito

As I promised myself two weeks ago, I have finally finished the drawings for my adult fairytale book Black Hole. All in all, there are 37 pages—each one with a drawing and words. It’s exciting to see them all done! There is still much work to do—scanning all of the pages and doing some final edits in Adobe Illustrator. Also, I might add some additional pages to break the story into sections or chapters. These things will take some time, but finishing the drawings is quite a milestone.

To be honest, I’m getting pretty ready to start doing some drawings that are outside of such a lengthy series—I miss starting and finishing a project within one or two days. I miss sharing finished artworks with all of you. But it will be quite amazing to finish this book and see it finished, whenever that might be. There are pluses and minuses to every kind of project.

In my efforts to take it easy on myself these days, I am not putting a strong time limit on finishing the book, but plan to work on it over the next two or three weeks to get it ready to print. Stay tuned for more updates! {check out previous posts on Black Hole}

3 Responses to “Finito”


  1. 1 Mike McLaren January 19, 2010 at 9:40 am

    I do not envy your scanning task!

  2. 2 artproject2010 January 19, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Great job getting this done, Nicole! I’m so proud of your dilligence, and I know what you mean about wanting to be able to get things done quickly. Perhaps that’s why some of us love drawing so much- impatience! ;) I know some drawings do take forever, but there is a major joy in simple pieces that I’ve discovered recently as well. :)

    -Marianne

  3. 3 Kerri January 21, 2010 at 12:36 am

    Nicole, this looks so amazing! Congratulations on finishing it, that’s such an achievement! I’m sure it is full of gloriousness!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


