If there are any heavens: poetry podcast #4

Hello! I’m back with another poetry podcast! Yay! This one has a poem from one of my absolute favorite poets—the great E.E. Cummings. I have been in love with his work for quite some time now—and you probably know it if you’ve been following this blog.

As E.E. Cummings is great to read on the page too, I have posted the text of the poem below. Enjoy!

Click below to listen:

{Psst: you can listen to previous podcasts here.}

* * * *

the poem from this podcast, by E.E. Cummings:

if there are any heavens my mother will(all by herself)have
one.     It will not be a pansy heaven nor
a fragile heaven of lilies-of-the-valley but
it will be a heaven of blackred roses

my father will be(deep like a rose
tall like a rose)

standing near my

swaying over her
(silent)
with eyes which are really petals and see

nothing with the face of a poet really which
is a flower and not a face with
hands
which whisper
This is my beloved my

                                 (suddenly in sunlight
he will bow,

& the whole garden will bow)

5 Responses to “If there are any heavens: poetry podcast #4”


  1. 1 rachel awes January 9, 2010 at 7:58 am

    i found your blog through jess gonacha’s blog…sooo lovely here! i too looove ee cummings and mary oliver and i loooove your triangle book!/how dear, bare truth, simple/everything contained, it is! huge encouragement and butterfly blessing wings i send you.

  2. 2 artproject2010 January 9, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    Love me some e.e. Cummings also! Thanks for sharing this.

  3. 3 Juhie May 3, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    This really helped with an essay I was assigned for English! I totally get it now! Beautiful analysis, your adoration for him really comes through your voice.


  1. 1 Now I Lay (E.E. Cummings): poetry podcast #12 « blue bicicletta Trackback on March 5, 2010 at 8:43 am

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


