Life as an Artist: update 5

There is a lot of uncertainty in art, and I suppose, in life in general. We never quite know where we’re going. I find this to be especially true when you’re starting a new business or career or venture (often working with blind faith) like I am.

There are many images out there of artists as free-spirited, fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants types, that live their lives floating on the wind. I am not one of them. I am the perfect fusion of my two parents: my dad—a creative, pensive, lamenting soul who jumps from new idea to new idea, and my mom—also creative, but a stick-with-it type, and a constant worrier. I love being creative, but I also like schedules and plans, lists and boundaries. I like to know where I’m going.

Unfortunately or fortunately, I was gifted these two sometimes seemingly opposite wishes: to have creativity and stability. It’s funny how life is—perhaps we are all given the exact combination of things that could either drive us insane or enlighten us—and it’s uncertain which will be the end product.

Some things I do not know: where I will end up, where art will take me, if I will be able to support myself as a full-time artist, if I will ever have financial stability.

Something I do know: I will keep showing up and making art, no matter what.

Perhaps this is the perfect manifestation of my two warring fractions: I am stable in my creativity. And maybe this is all the certainty we need—if we keep showing up and doing what we love, everything will turn out just fine—it may not be exactly how we imagined it, but it will still be our own surprising, wonderful life.

Do you have two seemingly opposite wishes for your life? How could they work together? I’d love to hear your war stories.

{p.s.: for previous “Life as an Artist posts, click here}

7 Responses to “Life as an Artist: update 5”


  1. 1 kseverny December 14, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    We two are similar of mind.
    Those are the two things that plague me in my life.
    For the record i think you’re very brave to take on such a challenge

  2. 2 Olivia December 14, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    I think more of life is unknown that we expect it to be. I’m learning to be ok with that.

    I struggle with loving, loving, loving change and the unknown but then at the same time wanting so many answers…

    Perhaps, that small part of me that isn’t a dreamer/living by faith is freaking out and sometimes wins.

  3. 3 Kerri December 14, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    You are so fantastic! I have not one single doubt that you will make it. You have bucket loads of talent but what may be even more important is you have the ability to persevere. It’s a winning combo!

  4. 4 linda December 15, 2009 at 2:47 am

    I think there are so many of us out there just like you…I had just written a post about creativity and making it a profession. It’s hard to find balance, but I think you said it just right – that if we keep showing up and do what we love everything will be fine. Life has to be challenging, otherwise it would be pretty darn boring…ahaha. Keep at it and all of us in the community really help each to support each other…woohoo!

  5. 5 Victoria December 15, 2009 at 8:40 am

    I think a life without opposite wishes would be a bit boring. Surely a part of life is to make all wishes work together. I guess another part of life is to sometimes just let certain things take its time. You’re such a great artist and I so want you to be able to making living out of your art work. Considering your talent I’m sure you’ll make it!

    Oh, and another thing. Don’t we women often not make sense? Like having contradicting wishes? Or is that just me hahaha. Somehow I think we have a need to be illogical. It’s like a gift. Men can’t cope when they’re not making sense but women tend to only see logic when things are very clear.

    Thanks for the Christmas card by the way!

    Ps: I just read the comments before clicking the submit button and no, I didn’t mean to copy Linda’s thoughts about life being boring without challenges ;)

  6. 6 bluebicicletta December 15, 2009 at 9:14 am

    I’m so psyched about all of the wonderful comments here! It’s great to see how we can all support each other. It’s also good to know that we’re all in this together. It is interesting what Linda and Victoria said–life would be boring without the challenge. That is so true, but it is hard to realize it when you are in the middle. Keep the discussion coming!

  7. 7 Michelle | When I Grow Up Coach December 22, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    The more I work with creative types, Nicole, the more I find that we are all so anti-stereotype. I haven’t worked with a single lazy, don’t care, no worries artist EVER. It seems that we’re all driven, & probably even organized, & most even need a plan to move forward.

    Off to catch up on the rest of your posts in this series! Have a feeling I’m gonna love ’em.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

Archives


