Link Love + Triangle Love + Letter Love

I have three types of love for you today!

LINK LOVE

Here’s an update of some places {other than this blog} that you can see me online this week.

1) The lovely Brittni from Paper n Stitch did a fun interview with me over at the beautiful Paper n Stitch blog. She asked me some very provocative questions, including “Why have I chosen to omit color from my work?” which I really enjoyed answering.

2) As I mentioned before, I have joined a local Etsy team called the SactoMetro Etsy Street Team. I continue to assemble interviews over on the team blog every Wednesday. Last Wednesday, because I hadn’t received interviews from any other team members for the week, I posted my own interview. This week, I posted an interview with Christine’s Jewelry Box. Christine make’s beautiful jewelry, so be sure to check out her Etsy Shop {great gifts, as you can imagine}.

3) I wrote a new article for Divine Caroline called, “The Build Your Own Gift Guide.” This article has lots of great ideas for building a creative and personal gift, without major art/craft skills and large amounts of time. Check it out!

TRIANGLE LOVE + LETTER LOVE

Lately, many of the art projects I’m working on are pretty involved, so it’s harder to share art here everyday, but here’s a little peek into a new project. I just started working on a new miniature book called “TriangeLove.” What could this book be about? Well, triangles of course! I do love triangles!

It’s not an informational book about triangles, but a little book using triangles in connection with different words/expressions like “side by side” or “lean on me.” This book is not only about triangle love, it’s also about letter love, as I’m learning/drawing/using a new typeface for it. This typeface is loosely based on baskerville, you know the one:

This is the first time I’ve ever tried drawing a really specific technical typeface, and it is giving me much respect for the typographers and designers of yore who could actually draw them precisely. Since my style has a lot of room for handmade imperfection, I’m not really striving for precision, but, even so, it is darn hard to draw these letters. It’s good for me though, and it is a major high when I actually execute a letter that remotely resembles the original font.

Here’s what my practice page looks like—can you tell which letter I’m really having trouble with?

In the end, I liked the first “s,” the one in the word “solo,” best.

This page is a living testimony to the trial and error that is inherent in art-making. The finished black and white letters at the top of this section were the product of a whole other set of trials and errors, and then I took them into Adobe Illustrator for a final clean-up before they existed in all of there perfect, imperfect glory here.

Happy art making to you, and remember—art is all about process—enjoy the learning curve. Perhaps I could say the same thing about life.

2 Responses to “Link Love + Triangle Love + Letter Love”


  1. 1 B December 13, 2009 at 3:05 am

    Oh – great post! Thanks.


  1. 1 Work in Progress « blue bicicletta Trackback on December 28, 2009 at 3:26 pm

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 345 other followers

Archives


