New: An Illustration Portfolio!

I wanted to let you all know about a new part of my blog. I am now officially starting to put myself out there as an illustrator, and so have created an Illustration Portfolio to showcase some of my work, and give people an idea of my style.

If you’re looking to add a unique touch of creativity to a project (think books, pamphlets, e-books, event posters, magazines), or would like to have a fun and one-of-a-kind way to promote your business (think business cards, fliers, postcards, and anything else you can dream up), I’d love to talk to you! Check out my portfolio:

You may be wondering, “what is the difference between an artist and an illustrator?” Well, I think that depends a lot on the type of artwork you do and where it’s used. I tend to think of illustration as “art for a particular purpose” (it also kind of blurs with graphic design). The first thing that comes to mind is children’s book illustration, but really, illustration encompasses a whole world of things: technical illustrations (think vacuum cleaner manual), magazine illustrations, posters and promotional materials, the surface of packaging, and the list goes on—basically any drawing that is adding a visual component to something. This is a very non-technical definition—I am kind of new to these distinctions, so this is my own personal working definition.

I have often been told that my particular style works well for illustration—it’s simple, fun, and easy to reproduce. I have also been really gawking at magazine illustrations lately and thinking it would be fun to get a little more into the illustration arena. A lot of artists that I’ve seen, working in contemporary styles similar to mine, are also doing illustration work, and I have started to do that with a few recent projects—most notably some greeting card designs that are currently going through reviews at a greeting card company (more on that in coming months).

I think, especially with my work, art and illustration are really blurred, more than say, with someone who does abstract art. I often create drawings that really illustrate a message, and I find it fun to figure out a unique way to represent something visually. I think it would be fun to bring that creativity into more venues. So, check out my portfolio! If you’ve been following this blog, you will probably recognize most of these illustrations/drawings, but basically I organized some of my best illustrations into some applicable categories.

3 Responses to “New: An Illustration Portfolio!”


  1. 1 Kerri December 6, 2009 at 1:15 am

    Illustration is such a great idea! Your work is beautiful and I can imagine it being used for lots of different things. I hope you are feeling great about yourself, you’re doing so well!

  2. 2 ricardo December 7, 2009 at 8:16 am

    This is such a good idea Nicole. Arlete is planning(with your permission) to embroider a “good morning Sleepeyes, don’t forget your dreams” nightgown.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

Archives


