How to Save the World: the originals

As the holidays approach, I’ve been working away in my Etsy shop to get all of my art in there. I just added the remaining eight framed originals from my How to Save the World series. I’ve shown these pieces in a couple of local shops, but this is the first time I’ve made these original drawings available online, so I’m pretty excited.

I spent yesterday afternoon searching my house for good lighting to photograph in. As I’ve mentioned before, I think photographing my art is one of the hardest parts of selling online. I’ve begun to realize that the number one thing that makes photos look good is good lighting. Natural filtered sunlight seems to work best.

I live in a duplex that could also be known as a cave, so I have often resorted to going outside to try and get hold of good lighting. This proves difficult when you are trying to show how a drawing will add to someone’s interior. Also, my yard space is not so beautiful—we rent our home, and don’t plan to make this our permanent residence, so we haven’t spent the time and money to beautify the yard.

Complaints about my house aside, I’m pretty happy with the photos I took yesterday. I ended up working in my bedroom with a little folding table as my “set.” I’m getting to the point where photographing the work is becoming even a little fun—big improvement from how I’ve dreaded it in the past. Now, I have the urge to go back and retry many old photos (perhaps even the very recent ones I took of my new miniature white framed drawings), now that I’ve found a lighting sweet-spot in my house. Ah, if only there were more hours in the day!

Here’s a peek at some of my favorite photos from yesterday. All of these pieces are available in this section of my shop, if you’d like to browse.

Eat Well & Slowly

Grow Your Own Food

Try to Understand Other People

Value Your Time More Than Your Money

Although I couldn’t think of something for all of the pieces, I tried to add some other items to the photos. I’ve found that the photos are more interesting if they put the drawing in some sort of context. I am thankful that my artwork scans well because most of the images I put online are just direct scans that are really able to show the artwork itself, but again and again I see and hear people say how important pictures are for selling online. The more good photos, the better. This makes sense because people can’t touch and see the items in person.
Slowly, as with everything, I’m learning how to do this part of my job. It’s a great learning experience, and I’m glad to be having a little fun with it.

Do you have any great tips about photographing artwork? I’d love to hear them! Post them here!

6 Responses to “How to Save the World: the originals”


  1. 1 Olivia November 19, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    That is a great collection! I am having a hard time photographing my work to sell on etsy too. You think it would be so easy.

  2. 2 kseverny November 19, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    that is a lighting sweetspot

  3. 3 Era November 20, 2009 at 6:28 am

    Looks like you found a great spot to photograph in. Why don’t you ask your customers to send pictures of where they have displayed your art?

  4. 4 Kerri November 21, 2009 at 12:09 am

    I know what you mean about photographing your art. I’m a photographer and I have trouble finding the perfect light too, even though the entire front of my house is glass! It’s always tricky but I think you’re right that natural light is best. These look pretty good to me!

  5. 5 spacetosimplify February 8, 2012 at 11:56 am

    These are delightful (particularly the piggy bank one), and all maxims I utterly agree with :)


  1. 1 Black Friday Celebration: FREE SHIPPING on FRAMED Originals « blue bicicletta Trackback on November 30, 2009 at 5:38 pm

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 345 other followers

Archives


