Talking Art

I’ve been talking about art a lot lately! Yay art!

I recently found out about the website Divine Caroline from Jenny at Rising Sun Coaching. I’m pretty new to the website, but Divine Caroline is a site for women where members can read and write articles on anything from work to hobbies to money. I thought it would be fun to write an article about art and creativity, specifically, how the creative process can be applied to other parts of our lives. I talked about this in a recent conversation with Jenny, and I’ve thought about it before—I’ve learned how to be open and come up with creative solutions in my art, but I often forget to use these skills in other parts of my life and the business side of my art. I think this happens to a lot of people—we learn something in one situation, and miss what that skill would offer to another.

My article is called Anything is Possible: Art and Creative Living . Check it out! It is a musing on a lot of ideas I’ve been having recently as I try to figure out how I want to live my life—you’ll notice I stole the title from this recent post. My only minor complaint about Divine Caroline is that I wasn’t able to upload my artwork to put with the article—I had to pick a stock photo. That was kind of disappointing, but otherwise the website looks great, and I think the stock photos probably help the entire site look more professional, so perhaps it’s better that way.

I have also been talking about art as a recent member of a local Etsy Team called the SactoMetro Etsy Street Team. If you’re unfamiliar with Etsy Teams, they’re a way for Etsy members to get together based on a common interest or location to meet like-minded creative people, share tips, and promote together. Since I live just 20 minutes from Sacramento, CA and often do shows there, I joined a local group. As part of the team, I have started posting weekly interviews with team members about their art/craft on the team blog.

I just posted the second weekly interview with MrsTalbott, a lovely local maker with a penchant for historic crafts (think handmade dolls, aprons, and knit items), and last week, I did the first interview with M and J Designs, the maker of so many fun creative items (think monster plushes and blue squid t-shirts).

So much art to be seen and made! I better hop to it!

2 Responses to “Talking Art”


  1. 1 Jenny November 18, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    I loved your article at Divine Caroline, Nicole!

    Also, thanks for the mention in your post–much appreciated!

    You inspire me regularly with you wonderful art and positive attitude. Thank you!

  2. 2 Kerri November 18, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    I LOVED your article! It is so well written and full of so many wonderful ideas and truths and I so appreciated every word. Thanks also for your comment on my blog, it was so sweet of you to take the time to think about what I said and respond so honestly. It cheered me up :)


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


