Oh, The Possibilities

Today, I want to talk about possibilities. Mostly, I’m writing this because I need to hear it, but also, I think there might be someone else out there who needs to hear it.

openthedoors

I want to hear these words hanging in the air, I want them dangling from every tree. I want everyone to fling the doors open wide, and let the possibilities in, I want to fill this place with:

hope

This is just a friendly way of saying that too often, we focus on what is not possible, but truly, anything is possible. I am telling you, it’s true.

I will get specific and tell you that I need to hear this because sometimes I focus on the ticking of the clock in my art career instead of the possibility. It hasn’t been long since I went full-time with my art, but I went into it with a time limit: if I couldn’t start making a full income by the beginning of 2010 (allowing myself just a few short months to amp it up), I would have to re-evaluate and find some other way to make money, and return to pursuing art part-time (until some future unspecified date, when I did find a way to support myself at it).

I put this in here not as my sob story, but because I want to be honest with you—honest with anyone out there who is in a similar situation. You are not alone. Truth be told: I love making art (I love it, I love it), but I am not yet making said full-time income.

So now, more than ever, with the holiday season dangling very near in front of me, the season during which many artists make a large chunk of their income, I am singing out to you and to me this message: ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE. Don’t forget it. You wouldn’t want to.

[The above “Hope” drawing is one of my new, as of yet un-released drawings that I will be bringing to a local craft show this weekend. If it doesn’t sell, it will be showing up here on the blog next week.]

7 Responses to “Oh, The Possibilities”


  1. 1 Jenny November 12, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    I love “anything is possible.” When I was gearing up to quit my job last June, I found a ring that said “everything is possible.” I knew I had to buy it. I’ve worn it everyday since, and when I need that little reminder, it’s right there on my right hand. Are you keeping your “anything is possible” print in a good place for you?

  2. 2 Era November 13, 2009 at 6:28 am

    Jaja and I looked up a lot of poems in prep for your big day, and we really wanted to include a Shel Silverstein poem, but none would fit. But NOW I get to send you one!

    LISTEN TO THE MUSTN’TS

    Listen to the MUSTN’TS, child,
    Listen to the DON’TS
    Listen to the SHOULDN’TS
    The IMPOSSIBLES, the WON’TS
    Listen to the NEVER HAVES
    Then listen close to me —
    Anything can happen, child
    ANYTHING can be.

    It just flows so well and is so wonderful and true. Your post just made me think of it. It’s like your “YES” which hangs above my bed. Maybe you should sell those, they are like hope you can hold.

  3. 3 Kerri November 14, 2009 at 2:01 am

    You are right, people need to hear this and one of them is me! Thanks so much for your honest words Nicole, I so appreciate it.

  4. 4 jaja November 14, 2009 at 3:20 am

    what era said is so true — you are such a work in inspiration to me, and all — a comment which isn’t meant to draw you away from an honest evaluation from yourself but more a comment meant to illuminate this flame you keep kindling within yourself, and, by your fire, which we keep trying to kindle within ourselves.

    much lovesessesesssss

  5. 5 Tina November 19, 2009 at 1:01 am

    Thank you for these words – I really needed to hear them today, and will carry them with me


  1. 1 Hope, Trust, Cook, Read: new framed originals « blue bicicletta Trackback on November 17, 2009 at 4:28 pm
  2. 2 Talking Art « blue bicicletta Trackback on November 18, 2009 at 11:34 am

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 344 other followers

Archives


