The Oaxacan Adventure

Hello! I’m back from my wedding and honeymoon! Yay! I’m glad to be home and getting back into my art, but first a mini-recap . . .

Unfortunately, we were not as multi-taskingly gifted as we had hoped at the wedding, and did not take any good wedding-y shots, so I will have to wait until I get access to some photos to share a view of that with you. I will say—the wedding turned out exactly as we hoped! So much family, great friends, amazing food and laughs! It was quiet and small and really a great celebration of who we Mike and I are, and who we are together. It was a moment in my life where I felt beyond gratitude to my family—people came from everywhere and did so much to make the day happen—so much personal hand-made effort went into everything, from the flowers to the photos to the food.

We did take photos on our honeymoon, otherwise known as “The Oaxacan Adventure,” a two week trip to the Oaxaca (wah-ha-cah) state of Mexico. We spent one week in the city of Oaxaca, and one week on the coast in a town called Puerto Escondido. Here are some brief highlights. Try and guess what we spent the majority of our time doing . . .

eating_mexico

me drinking from a giant goblet of fruit juice at Cafe Alex in Oaxaca.

montealban

Monte Alban, an ancient Zapotec city very near the city of Oaxaca

montealban_carvings

Ancient art at Monte Alban

onthebeach

At Playa Manzanillo in Puerto Escondido

beachclouds

Clouds over Playa Zicatela (a beach famous for surfing) in Puerto Escondido

As you might have guessed, lounging and eating bookended our sightseeing on this trip. Monte Alban was really extraordinary—it was amazing to imagine people walking around there 2,000 years ago. I have to say though, even more than soaking up culture, this trip was about relaxing, and relax we did. The coastal area we visited, Puerto Escondido, was actually quite humid this time of year (I’m talking pretty much instant sweating when you are outside), so we spent a lot of time chilling in the water and taking afternoon naps in our cool studio apartment that we rented. Having time to lounge and think about nothing without any schedule was just what we needed, sprinkled with good food and poking around of course.

I will be back tomorrow, and hopefully with art, as now I can really launch into doing art full-time!

14 Responses to “The Oaxacan Adventure”


  1. 1 Era October 14, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Welcome home! I love that picture of the clouds over the beach, gorgeous. Good luck on your new life as a full time artist, I can’t wait to hear about it!

  2. 2 Kerri October 14, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Oh I’m so glad your wedding was perfect! Honeymoon looks pretty damn good too! Love that ancient city and the clouds in your beach photo. And how fabulous to be a full time artist! You’re living my dream x x

  3. 3 تجريبي كوم October 15, 2009 at 5:26 am

    Oh I’m so glad your wedding

  4. 4 Evil October 15, 2009 at 5:39 am

    Wow crazy adventure
    I wish you Happiness in your new life

  5. 5 sunny October 15, 2009 at 6:07 am

    Congratulations!
    good luck!

  6. 6 Pretty Project October 15, 2009 at 6:20 am

    Ooh, I like the beach shot. Makes me want to be there…not here. :)

    http://www.theprettyproject.com

  7. 7 bwlight October 15, 2009 at 6:21 am

    Congratulations from a fellow-newlywed! Your pics are great & I’ve wanted to get to Oaxaca, even more so now.

    Best wishes for all your dreams!

  8. 8 SallyK October 15, 2009 at 7:15 am

    Beautiful! Oaxaca has been on my travel list for a long time, too long! Thanks for sharing…. North Coast Muse @ http://sally1029.wordpress.com

  9. 9 Vali October 15, 2009 at 8:13 am

    nice pics :)

  10. 10 Anna October 15, 2009 at 9:13 am

    Being as it was a honeymoon, I wouldn’t want to wager a guess as to what you spent your time doing…

    …taking photo’s? They’re really nice – love the Monte Alban one. And thanks for the pronunciation advice, because I would have said Oaxaca all wrong (but then when you know, it looks totally right)!

    Haven’t been to Davis for a long, long time. Wonder if it’s changed?

    Anna
    The Anglofile.net

  11. 11 danakennedy October 15, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Fantastic pics! I’m dying to make the trip myself.
    http://danakennedy.wordpress.com/

  12. 13 Christina October 15, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    Love it! Been wanted to get over to Oaxaca for some time. Good to hear it’s as wonderful as I imagined!

  13. 14 jawg October 16, 2009 at 4:18 am

    i love it when the beautiful destiantions in my country are truly appreciated! I love Oaxaca, it’s been a long time since i haven’t gone but it is a beautiful state. Congratulations on your wedding!!!!! :)


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


