To the Chapel

If you’re a regular reader of this blog, you might know that I’m getting married this September. Weddings present a lot of creative opportunities, but of course because of the art I do, I started think about invitation designs, oh probably within 24 hours of getting engaged. I finally put pen to paper this Spring, and now I think it’s finally safe to give you guys a peek since I think all parties concerned have received their invitations.

bluebicicletta_wedding_invitation

We’re getting married at my family’s home in Aspen, Colorado at the end of September, so the theme I picked Aspen leaves and trees as the theme of the invitations. We’re having a smallish, somewhat informal, destination wedding, so we decided to make it an all-inclusive weekend, and we’ve invited everyone to the couples’ shower, rehearsal dinner, and wedding. (We’re having a couples’ shower in the week right before the wedding because we thought this would be the time that the most number of people would be able to come since they’ll be traveling already.)

As you can see, there are three pieces to the invitation—an actual invitation, a schedule of events, and an RSVP postcard that includes all three events. I got the first and last piece printed on white cardstock and then the schedule of events is printed on recycled banana leaf paper. We used recycled brown envelopes to add to the natural feeling. This was a fun way to do it, and I’m happy with how all of it looked together. It’s a lot of fun to get the RSVPs back in the mail, it really signals this final countdown to the wedding!

Well, I’m sure there will be more wedding news coming your way in the next month, as I’ll be going off to Colorado for the wedding and then Mexico for my honeymoon!

6 Responses to “To the Chapel”


  1. 1 Pica August 25, 2009 at 8:36 am

    Beautiful, and what fun that you could do this with plenty of time, with full inclusion, and with love!

  2. 2 Jenny August 25, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    Congratulations! Those are so wonderful!

  3. 3 alyson August 25, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    So so lovely! I love the hand-lettering. And…another example of parallel lives! We are also having our wedding at home AND used recycled brown envelopes for the invites! I need to wait a bit before posting on my blog, to make sure everyone gets them first. Congrats!

  4. 4 jaja August 26, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    i have to say, my favorite part is the ”with bells”!!!!! eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee what a little gem of a phrase and so appropriately used!

  5. 5 Kerri August 27, 2009 at 2:36 am

    Nicole these are lovely! I adore the twig and leaf design, just beautiful. Banana leaf paper sounds amazing!

  6. 6 Ashley Dailey August 28, 2009 at 1:41 am

    Lovely invites! I think it’s great to create your own invites. It adds a depth of personality to the whole occasion. Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

Archives


