Lilacs

I love lilacs. I love them. I love the tiny little flowers, I love the light purple color referred to as lilac, but most of all I love their scent. In the house I lived in when my family first moved to Colorado (when I was 11), there were lilac trees in our front yard, and in the Spring when they were blooming, the scent would waft in through my bedroom window. That is a nostalgic scent for me—all caught up in the romance and drama of being a pre-teen and young teenager, sitting in my room pining away for something I couldn’t quite put my finger on. The flowers just went along with my dreams, and the journals that I filled with angsty poems about love and life.

I’m always amazed at how easily a scent or smell can conjure a place—when I smell lilacs, I’m back in that corner room on Mountain View Drive, sitting on my bed writing. It’s late Spring, and a subtle purple scent is blowing in on a breeze.

Of course, when I came to the letter L for my alphabet series, I had to do “lilacs.” Most of the other words are singular, but I had trouble with just “lilac” because there are so many little flowers on each branch. It’s a silly little detail, but I’m still torn about it. Anyway, here it is.

lilacs

“Lilacs,” 5 x 5 inches, pen and ink, prints available in my shop

**Also, just wanted to say I will be out selling at 2nd Saturday in Sacramento tomorrow night (August 8th) from 6-10 pm in the McMartin Realty parking lot at 2031 K St. Come out and see the Quit Your Day Job Buttons in the flesh, as well as all of my prints, and one other new thing that hasn’t even made it onto the blog yet! This is a really fun venue with live music and a whole slew of artists and crafters. Hope to see you locals there!

0 Responses to “Lilacs”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 341 other followers

Archives


