The Quit Your Day Job Button Celebration!

A couple of days ago, along with my big announcement that I had given notice at my day job to start doing art full time, I mentioned a coming scheme/celebration. Well, here it is—I’m having a Quit Your Day Job Button Celebration!

How it works: I will be making 100 completely original, one of a kind, hand-drawn buttons between now and September 15, my quitting day. Yes, every single button will be completely original and hand-drawn (and buttoned) by me! This means that each 2.25 inch button is a completely original piece of art! I have just posted the first batch here, and I started a flickr set here so you can see all of the buttons together as I go along.

This is a really fun project because I get to explore the depths of my creative brain in trying to come up with 100 button-worthy illustrations over the next 7 weeks. It also gives art-lovers a chance to get a completely original (and wearable) piece of artwork for $5.

Here are some pictures:

quitbuttons_oncard

Each button comes displayed on a piece of textured pastel cardstock, so if you’re not a button wearer, you could frame them and hang them on the wall.

quitbuttons_signed

Each button is titled and signed on the back.

And here is the first batch—16 buttons in all:

quitbuttons_week1_set1

quitbuttons_week1_set2

quitbuttons_week1_set3B

quitbuttons_wk1_set4blog

There is one more part to this celebration, and I’m calling it:

readerschoice

Yes, I mean YOU! Got any great ideas for a button, or would you like to see something special on a button of your very own? Well, leave your ideas in a comment on this post, and you could see your idea come to fruition! I will be picking a selection of reader’s choice ideas and making them into buttons. If I do make your button, I will contact you via email and give you the option to buy the button (with free shipping) before it’s released to the public. You are under absolutely no obligation to buy, so suggest away! Depending on the number of suggestions, I will create a few batches of reader’s choice buttons during the next 7 weeks.

I hope these buttons give you a few giggles and laughs and bits of inspiration.

Oh, and please don’t keep this a secret, spread the word! You’re welcome to use the drawing at the top of my sidebar at right to tell people about it!

10 Responses to “The Quit Your Day Job Button Celebration!”


  1. 1 Era July 31, 2009 at 4:47 am

    Yay, buttons! I’m fond of teapots or coffeepots. I love that little birthday cake. What about some more fruit, you draw it so well. I would love to see a fig . . .

  2. 2 margarita July 31, 2009 at 5:07 am

    Congratulations for leaving your day job, I am in the process of achieving the same, I wish I can sell enough cushions to do my textiles fulltime. I dream with that day!! so thanks for doing it I am following u soon.
    I like the buttons I will think of something and come back to you, actually i saw somewhere this: TAKE ME AS I AM, I think it is very cool, and that it how it should always be!!

  3. 3 jaja July 31, 2009 at 7:11 am

    you have both an artist’s heart and a marketer’s brain … killer concept all around! hmmmm, i would love to see anything with bikes, or guinea pigs (challenge!), or airplanes, or window panes, and at least a couple whole buttons of just full-on all over the place pattern! and i agree with Era, i can’t seem to get enough of the fruit …

  4. 4 Stacey Ball August 6, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    Ooooo, Oooo, I finally thought of something. How about a button that says Iney and one that says Outey.


  1. 1 The Life of a Button « blue bicicletta Trackback on August 5, 2009 at 3:25 pm
  2. 2 Quit Your Day Job Button Celebration: week 2 « blue bicicletta Trackback on August 6, 2009 at 10:49 am
  3. 3 Eavesdropping « blue bicicletta Trackback on August 10, 2009 at 3:41 pm
  4. 4 Quit Your Day Job Button Celebration: week 3 « blue bicicletta Trackback on August 13, 2009 at 10:39 am
  5. 5 Quit Your Day Job Button Celebration: week 5 « blue bicicletta Trackback on August 27, 2009 at 10:50 am
  6. 6 Reader’s Choice Buttons « blue bicicletta Trackback on September 10, 2009 at 9:11 am

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 345 other followers

Archives


