Sink or Swim Time

I have some big news. Perhaps as big as news from me can get, especially in reference to this blog. I gave notice at my office job this week, and I will start my life as a full-time artist this coming October!

For those of you who have been following this blog, you might know that this Fall was already going to be a pretty life-changing time for me—I’m getting married at the end of September. But I’ve been thinking, and dreaming, and hoping to start doing art full time for quite a while, and I have finally taken the plunge.

This is very special news for me, and I really have been excited to share this with all of you blog readers specifically, because starting this blog was one of my first big steps towards this goal, although I didn’t completely know it at the time. I started this blog, and then you all just showed up, and things started happening inside of me and outside of me that just kept making this transition seem more and more important, and real, and possible.

I have started and quit a lot of jobs, but this situation is completely different—this is the first time that I’ve known there is something I love and am passionate about waiting on the other side. While this transition is scary, and somewhat like jumping off a cliff, the idea of being a full-time artist is so mind-blowingly expansive and inspiring that it trumps all talk of fear and risk.

ichooseswim

This is a major time of new beginning for me, so I’m putting things into high gear to try and open up more possibilities and figure out the answer to that big question that everyone is asking—how will I make my income? No, I am not independently wealthy, and to be honest, I have been living on a “starving artist” level income for some time now, so I may be doing things somewhat backwards, but hey, didn’t someone say life is an adventure?

This whole thing is a combination of blind faith and elbow grease. What I do know is that over the past several months I have started to see income potential in my work, so I am starting from somewhere, and I think that a creative mind (which I’m assuming I have) is the best place to start on this very creative life project!

I have been doing a lot of scheming, and you will be seeing one such scheme later this week on the blog—a celebration of sorts. The picture above is a little hint.

As always, thanks so much for reading and being a part of my creative little world, hopefully about to get much bigger!

I hope you will come on this adventure with me!

11 Responses to “Sink or Swim Time”


  1. 1 Olivia July 28, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    Hooray, that is so exciting, to be able to do what you love all the time. I stay home with my son and get to work on my art too. We definitely could use the money, but it’s more important to me to take care of my family and pursue what I love!! I know it will be great for you.

  2. 2 Era July 28, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS again!!!!

  3. 3 jaja July 28, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA CONGRATULATIONS!!! :) such great news

  4. 4 Pica July 29, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    Oh wonderful, this is fantastic news N. So pleased for you, and so in awe of your courage.

  5. 5 Mike July 30, 2009 at 10:19 am

    “mind-blowingly expansive and inspiring”

    This is obviously what was meant for you and what you are supposed to do. I’m so proud of you that you have found it.

  6. 6 alyson July 30, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    This is so odd. I just started reading your blog about a month ago, and now you’ve gone and written the post I’m planning to write in about a week. :) I’m about to give notice at my job, I’m getting married in October, and I’m going to devote more of my time to creating art (and hopefully make my art a source of income). All that life-changing is hard, but seriously congrats for taking the plunge.

  7. 7 Marta May 25, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    Definitely on the same boat ;) So so feeling you right now.
    Just published my little story of quitting : http://martaspendowska.com/blog/quitting-job-going-freeranch

    Nicole, congrats! I’m taking this adventure with you.
    Chin up!
    ~Marta

  8. 9 Marta May 26, 2011 at 9:23 am

    Ha! I totally missed the date ;) I thought it happened just recently.. ;) I’m going to read a bit more to see how you’re doing sweet girl!


  1. 1 Life as an Artist: update 1 « blue bicicletta Trackback on October 16, 2009 at 12:49 pm
  2. 2 When I Grow Up – The Blog » Blog Archive » An Open Letter to Our Parents, on Why We Need to Quit Our Jobs Trackback on May 24, 2011 at 10:52 pm

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


