Raspberry Fun

I seem to be in a self-critical mood these last couple of days, and I realize that I most often post about the glory of art, but rarely (somewhat deliberately) leave out the pesky challenges.

I have to say, three times was a charm with this drawing—I just couldn’t get it right, and wasn’t really even sure I did when I finished this version, although it’s growing on me. I just wanted to share this because maybe there’s someone out there who looks at all of my nice little posts about art, and doesn’t realize that sometimes I’m cursing at my pen after I flub up a line, or I smear something on the page, or I just have to face the realization that I did not do what I wanted to do, and I have to do it again.

Two great lessons of art are: learn how to forgive yourself, and realize that you are not your art. It’s easy to get critical of yourself when your art isn’t turning out, but the truth is: art is a process, and you learn by doing. Also a failed piece of art doesn’t mean you’re a failure, and you most definitely learned something in the process (which means the experience was a success, as are you for continuing on).

Sometimes I have to teach and re-teach myself these ideas and just know when to walk away. Last night was one of those times—I drew this raspberry drawing twice and couldn’t get it right—it bothered me a lot, but it was bed time. I came back to it this afternoon, and I’m much happier with my results today. So, all I’m saying is, hang in there, chin up, and try it again tomorrow.

raspberry

5 x 5 inches, pen and ink, prints available in my shop

1 Response to “Raspberry Fun”


  1. 1 severnyproductions July 21, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    my sentiments exactly


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

Archives


