Sea Anemone

I’ve gone aquatic with my natural patterns alphabet:

seaanemone

“Sea Anemone,” 5 x 5 inches, pen and ink, prints available in my shop

Seeing how this series plays out is as interesting and surprising to me as it might be to you. Take for example this drawing, and compare it to the last one I did, Queen Anne’s Lace. I notice an uncanny resemblance, even though one is an earth-bound plant and the other is a predatory animal from under the sea. Nature is amazing! Flowers everywhere.

If you’ve never seen a sea anemone for real, search for it in google images and you will be astounded by the drama and variety of them. While I am happy with my drawing, black and white can’t do justice to the psychedelic, supernatural qualities of this animal—punchy purples and ethereal greens—any color in the rainbow really, and then a flowing fringe of tentacles. Nature is the best artist!

1 Response to “Sea Anemone”


  1. 1 severnyproductions July 15, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    it sure is


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

Archives


