High Mountain Adventures

OK, so I lied. In the last post, I said I was going to Kings Canyon National Park, but I was actually in the neighboring Sequoia National Park. I feel silly for making this mistake, but in my defense, they are right next to each other and often referred to together. Anyway, I got back late last night, full of high mountain goodness, from visiting our friend Pat who is working on a trail crew in Sequoia. Here are some of the things I saw on this adventure:

sequoia_throughtrees

Looking out from the beginning of the trail

sequioa_flowers

Wildflowers graced our walk!

Our friend Pat said these are called Yellow-Throated Gillia

sequoia_mtns

Our destination in the distance

There’s a trail crew camp nestled in those mountains, just below Hamilton Lake!

sequioa_swimming

Swimming in Hamilton Lake

(my Mike in the foreground and our friend Pat on the Waterpillar)

sequioa_pierogies

Pat loves to cook, and he’s part Polish, so he thought that our coming to visit was the perfect opportunity to make some pierogies from scratch. So we made them in his fully outfitted trail crew kitchen, and they were scrumptious!

sequoia_ninelakes

The view from the Kiwea Gap

sequoia_us

Me and Mike—lookin’ good!

1 Response to “High Mountain Adventures”


  1. 1 Era July 7, 2009 at 3:48 am

    Home-made pierogies on the trail! If you have any hints about how he made them without the filling busting out all over the place when he boiled them, please tell!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


