Pomegranate

So, it’s official, an alphabet series is developing. Right now, I’m going to call it a “Natural Patterns Alphabet.” That could change, but I want to tag it so people can find all the pieces together on this blog. This third piece took a decidedly fruity turn, but the inside of a pomegranate is just too lovely to pass up. I have a feeling that there will be several sub-series within the alphabet (I already see potential for natural homes and fruit), but the common thread will be something loosely defined as a “natural pattern.”

pomegranate

“Pomegranate,” 5 x 5 inches, pen and ink, prints available in my shop

I don’t think I will be putting the originals up for sale right now, until I decide if I will use some of them for a show, but please do let me know if you’re interested in a piece.

I learned many new things about the word “pomegranate” while doing this drawing, so now, I will bore you with some etymological information—I am such a word nerd, but honestly words provide me with endless entertainment! The English word pomegranate comes from the Old French words meaning “seeded apple,” in fact, the Italian and German words also translate to the same thing: “melograno” and “granatapfel” respectively. The most interesting version of the word to me was the French “grenade” because I found out that the weapon called “grenade” was essentially named after the fruit. Enjoy!

1 Response to “Pomegranate”


  1. 1 Katie May 27, 2009 at 5:26 am

    Looks yummy!! And I love the stories behind words, guess that makes me a nerd too :-)


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 344 other followers

Archives


