Respect

Looking through some old drawings and sketches last week, I flipped through the original mini sketchbook for my Saving the World drawings, and I just couldn’t help myself, I had to do one more large one. I thought I had finished with them, but I couldn’t quite understand why I never did an 8 x 10 version of this one about respect, and so got out a bigger sheet of paper and went to work. Here is the final product, and I have a print version available in my shop.

respect

8 x 10 inches, pen and ink

This print is a reminder to me how important it is to respect yourself—I think respecting yourself is perhaps even more important than respecting others. It seems that most of the time, we treat other people better than we treat ourselves—constantly berating ourselves for every mistake or mishap.

Imagine if we all treated ourselves with complete respect—we never beat ourselves up, we supported ourselves completely, let ourselves off the hook even when we wanted to spend the day lounging around eating ice cream. If we treated ourselves with this much care, how would we treat other people? Probably with the same care. If we could see ourselves for the good people we are, how would we view other people? Probably with the same consideration and love.

The bottom line is that everything starts really small and close to home—our internal universe works like a test lab for the rest of our lives. Frustrations with yourself often spiral into frustrations with your friends and family. We could all benefit from testing some of the good stuff on ourselves instead of all of the reprimanding and berating. Respect yourself.

4 Responses to “Respect”


  1. 1 Sarah February 17, 2009 at 5:29 am

    In principle I agree, but I think respect means different things to different people* – it also depends I think on a level of self awareness which most people, in my experience, don’t have. I’m not saying we shouldn’t strive to be more respectful to each other, just that I think it’s a little more complicated.

    *In the UK not so long ago a writer (his name escapes me) was badly beaten up by some 13 year olds because he ‘wasn’t respecting them’. They used to hang out in the stairway of the block of flats where he lived (and they didn’t) – he’d asked them to not hang around there.

  2. 2 Era February 17, 2009 at 9:15 am

    This is really well designed, great job Nicole!

  3. 3 jaja February 18, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    hear hear! not only well designed but very well said and something to keep in mind (or even read!) as often as you can…

  4. 4 bluebicicletta February 19, 2009 at 8:56 am

    I totally agree Sarah–respect does mean very different things to different people. I think perhaps the term is thrown around a little too lightly sometimes, like in the case of those teenagers you describe, to mean “you’re telling me not to do something that I want to do, and therefore you’re not respecting me.”

    I am talking about that deep respect of each other and ourselves as real contributors to life–respect as a means of showing you value and are at least trying to understand the other person.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

Archives


