Interconnected

web

“Web,” 4.5 x 4 inches, pen and ink, available in my shop

This is perhaps a fitting drawing today, since I’m currently trying to teach myself/learn how to network better.

Isn’t it funny how things come up in multiple places in your life at the same time? Especially art—sometimes art can subtly or not so subtly reinforce what you would like to create in your life.

For me, it was much easier to weave the squares together on paper than it is to weave myself into the networks of other creative people. But paper is an old friend, we’ve known each other a very long time.

Perhaps the real lesson is in the process—I had to draw each line on the page. Creating networks in real life probably involves the same process: drawing out each strand and continuing to build and maintain the overall structure over time.

Does anybody out there have any tried and true networking advice? I guess I mean the more abstract concept of developing a network of like-minded people, not necessarily business networking, but hints or advice about either would be appreciated!

1 Response to “Interconnected”


  1. 1 Era February 12, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    Have you tried joining clubs? You could find an art club in town (or Sac more likely). You could also try volunteering at an art center in town (we all know how fruitful volunteering can be). Or attending professional meetings, like the Graphic Designers of America meeting or something not made up. Great for meeting people.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 344 other followers

Archives


