Expansive Thoughts

It is so easy to get caught up in small, cramped thoughts (to name a few: I hate my job, I have do finish all of these things by the end of the day, I will never have enough money).

I recently added the idea of the expansive thought to my bag of tricks to get myself out of mental messes. Instead of dwelling on the small thoughts that put me into a box, I am trying to think of the most wide, expansive thoughts I can. So far, one of my favorites is this:

artisinfinite

I think one of the biggest fears for a lot of creative people is that they will one day run out of ideas. I believe this fear is part of the reason behind writer’s block and vast periods of un-creativity that leave us feeling uninspired and unfulfilled. There is this fear that there will be nothing new to say, or that we each have a particular number of ideas, and once they’re used up, that’s it. This keeps people from starting and continuing with creative pursuits, and makes a lot of people think they could never sustain a creative life.

We are all bound to get into a rut once in a while, but I find the idea of infinity to be inspiring. Creativity is like air—it’s just floating all around us, and there are an infinite number of possibilities.

If you would like to hang this idea on your wall, I have some 5 x 7 inch prints of it in my shop.

4 Responses to “Expansive Thoughts”


  1. 1 greenermeinvitations January 19, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    What a great post- I love your work!

  2. 2 curiouscrowarts January 22, 2009 at 9:38 am

    It’s all too easy to get bogged down with those thoughts isn’t it? I’m having one of those (pre-menstrual) days and your BIG thought really cheered me – thank you for that piece of wisdom.


  1. 1 Find Job | Finance Blogg Trackback on January 20, 2009 at 2:24 am
  2. 2 blue bicicletta Trackback on February 5, 2009 at 5:26 pm

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

Archives


