To the letter

I love letters—they drive me wild! I’ll admit it. I love words too. Of course, if you’ve been following my blog, you already know this.

I’ve now realized that I could probably draw letters all day long. I don’t know what it is about them. Each letter, and each version of each letter, has its own personality—especially if they’re hand drawn. The moment I complete a letter, putting it’s black outline on the paper where there was just blankness before, my pulse quickens.

I get excited about other shapes too, but there’s something about a letter that really says something, perhaps because it does actually say something.

Now it wouldn’t have taken a rocket scientist to figure out that language holds a special place for me (I studied literature and writing in college and have been filling journals since I was 12), but it is a pretty recent realization that I love these base units that make up language, this l m n o p (which for the record I thought was one word when I used to sing the alphabet as a kid).

I’ve been doing a lot of word drawings lately (as you can see below), but I haven’t done an alphabet other than just doodling. So I got to work today, and you will see the product below, which is now on sale over at my shop.

“Alphabet I,” 5 x 7 inches, pen and ink

3 Responses to “To the letter”


  1. 1 Sarah October 18, 2008 at 7:43 am

    It’s great – like a pen and ink sampler. I can really see how much you enjoyed doing this – all that energy is there, in the drawing.

  2. 2 Ricardo in Puerto Vallarta October 23, 2008 at 12:12 am

    I like those lively little letters the ones kicking up a leg. How about numbers? I guess its anachronistic but in the noun ‘figure’ meaning number as people used to say ‘figures don’t lie’ the physical shape was explicitly an expression of the abstract math concept I guess that was an understanding of representing abstractions on paper that we are losing, but not you i guess.


  1. 1 Alphabet Soup « blue bicicletta Trackback on December 18, 2008 at 1:19 pm

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 344 other followers

Archives


