Apples and walnuts

~And today, a culinary interlude, as food is the stuff of life~

Another great thing about Fall: it’s apple season (at least for most of us in the northern hemisphere). And what goes better with apples than walnuts, which are also coming into season? I highly recommend taking a trip to your local farmer’s market (or a farm) where you can find out that apples don’t naturally shine like bowling balls!

[a little linoleum block print I did a while ago, with apples on my mind]

Color comes just after flavor for me when I’m choosing apples; I particularly like the multicolored speckled/streaked varieties with varying shades of red, pink and green. I have recently begun to love Jonagolds, and am also a fan of Pink Ladies—how can you go wrong—the names are fun too!

I am baking up some bread to appreciate the tastetastic duo of apples and walnuts, and supply myself with an inspiring mid-morning weekday snack. I don’t want to share my recipe until I know it’s a winner, and it’s still cooling, but you can find a variety of apple walnut bread recipes at cooks.com.

Another really easy and amazing way to use these two ingredients is in a green salad. Just add diced apples and chopped walnuts to your favorite mixture of greens, top it with a vinaigrette or an extra virgin olive oil and lemon juice dressing, and you have a very dynamic salad. If you want to make it even more upscale, add some crumbled blue cheese for that amazing sweet, salty, tangy, crunchy effect.

While you’re at it, forget the greens and just put the apples, walnuts and blue cheese (or gorgonzola) out with some good crackers, and you have a great snack or appetizer. Drizzle the apples with a little lemon juice to keep them from going brown and add a little zing. You won’t be sorry.

This is the stuff of expensive restaurant menus, but there really is no reason not to do it at home. It’s inspiring, healthy, and affordable when these ingredients are in season.

Three cheers for nature’s bounty!

1 Response to “Apples and walnuts”


  1. 1 Bit o' Honey October 18, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    Ah, fall. It is a favorite season. I love your apple block print. I love the use of negative space — I’m always impressed by how much you do with so few lines.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


