The jaws of life

“Jaws of Life Quilt,” 5 x 7 inches, pen and ink

I started out drawing something very different today, but I ended up with what I call the “Jaws of Life Quilt” you see above. One triangle just called out for teeth and then the rest ensued. Perhaps because I am extraordinarily philosophical and am always tossing around life questions in my head, I came up with this particular title.

I often feel tossed around by life, in both good and bad ways. Maybe, it’s more tossed around by myself—I never can predict how exactly I will feel at any given moment; emotions and thoughts are the real ride for me. But I’ve found myself thinking quite often about the grand old question, “What is this life about?”

Recently, I found the best answer I’ve found so far, (riding my bike of course—where I find so many ideas and thoughts), which is: life is about this moment.

This is not a new idea, of course—it is as old as human thought itself (and maybe non-human animals demonstrate it best). The Vietnamese Buddhist monk Thich Nhat Hanh says it best in his book Our Appointment with Life:

“Our appointment with life
is in the present moment.
The place of our appointment
is right here, in this very place.”

Even though this thought is not new, and it is definitely not new to me as I have been thinking about it for quite some time, sometimes the air, or the light, or the moment is just right for the true gravity of a thought to dawn on me.

This time, the above thought, provoked a question, “What could I do right now to appreciate this day?” Since this experience happened a few days ago, I have been trying to remind myself of this question as often as possible.

Some of the answers I have come up with so far are:

-Cook and enjoy a wonderful dinner with Mike (my now fiance!)
-Go outside and draw
-Lounge on the floor with my beastly dog Lance

What answers do you come up with?

2 Responses to “The jaws of life”


  1. 1 j.beaman October 2, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    I try and say “yes” to everything. Go out in the world, no matter how tired and lazy or bad-mood-ish I’m feeling. Say yes, I say.

  2. 2 Meg October 5, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    Congrats on your engagement!!!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 344 other followers

Archives


