Going blind and a few words

Another great blogger found me, and I in turn got to find her. Sarah over at drawing diary is doing some wonderful blind drawing that inspired me to do a little drawing from life myself. Basically, what I mean by “blind drawing” is drawing without looking at the paper. Kind of like how you type without looking at the keys; with this technique you keep your eyes completely on your subject.

I first heard about it in a drawing class where we used the book Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain by Betty Edwards that has you start out doing blind contour drawings (contour means you just draw the lines without shading).

It’s pretty freeing and fun and teaches you that drawing is more about seeing your subject than anything else. This technique also allows you to be sloppy and just focus on noticing detail. It’s a great way to get past the whole “I suck and I can’t do this” phase that so many people seem to feel about art.

I fully agree with Betty Edwards when she says anyone can learn to draw. I say, “throw caution to the wind, pick up pen and paper NOW, and let the fun begin! You can do it!”

Here are a couple blind contour drawings I did today:

My dog Lance

A self-portrait—I particularly like the left eye!

On another note, I have flipped back into a painting phase, and I’m working on a very large 28 inch by 36 inch word painting called “Black Hole.”

I have been in a pen and ink phase for quite some time, so you may not have seen or heard about this other work, but I like to paint large words on wood with bright house paint. I’ve done rhyming words and little funny poem-like things, but this one is a couple phrases I wrote a while ago that I am really feeling right now.

These paintings take me a whole lot longer than my small drawings because I have to paint over and over the letters to get them solid, and there’s a lot of area, so I will be working on it for a little while yet. If I’m really motivated, I could finish it by the end of the week, but I’m not making any promises. Here is a little glimpse:

7 Responses to “Going blind and a few words”


  1. 1 Sarah September 30, 2008 at 7:13 am

    Hi Nicole

    thank you – I’m really happy my drawings have re-ignited the ‘drawing without looking’ spark in you. I hope it spreads!

    I particularly love your self portrait – sometimes I think self portraits drawn this way are more honest – I don’t know if that is actually true, it may be my fantasy.

    Thanks too for your comments on my blog – I’ve been following your blog for a while now via RSS -I love your graphic style and use of words – but I haven’t linked to you, which I will do today.

  2. 2 Sarah September 30, 2008 at 7:32 am

    Forgot to say – I like the look of this painting too.

  3. 3 Pica September 30, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    I love doing these blind contours and think it’s time to do another!!

  4. 4 ninaroos October 3, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    wauw, like these drawing lots!
    indeed the eye is very cool i think:)
    merci!

  5. 5 Barbara October 19, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    wow…just came to your blog by hazard.
    I love your blind contour drawings. They are so off-key (I hope that this is the right english word for waht I want to say)

  6. 6 bluebicicletta October 19, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog Barbara! I think I know what you mean by off-key–do you mean mis-aligned–as in they don’t line up? That is definitely the fun of blind contour drawings!


  1. 1 Rest in Peace « blue bicicletta Trackback on November 20, 2008 at 10:24 am

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


