All on the farm

As I’ve said before, the University of California at Davis was set up as the UC Farm School. In celebration of the centennial this year, the UC Davis Craft Center is having a show called “Crafts from the Farm,” and I’m participating!

I teach beginning photography at the Craft Center, so I thought it was only appropriate that I use photography as my medium, specifically, my Holga (which you can read about here). The Holga just felt right for this project because I got an image of old-looking farm pictures. I decided to challenge myself to take the photos only on the UC Davis campus to show what remains of farming here, 100 years later. I gave the pictures an extra added old feeling by using warm tone fiber paper, which gives them a warmer tonal range.

This show is happening towards the end of September– I’ll let you all know the actual dates in the near future, in case some of you Davisites want to take a look. There will also be lots of other crafts, inspired by the farm.

I think I will end up with 7 or 8 photos. I am printing them small– about 4 x 5 inches, with the intention of framing them in a variety of thrift-store frames, to give them a homey feeling. Here are my two favorites, so far.

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 345 other followers

Archives


