Drawing away the day

Hello there, and happy Wednesday. I’ve been working on several different projects lately including a couple illustrations for different contests. I submitted an illustration for the design a t-shirt contest being put on by 350.org and Craftster.org for global warming awareness. I will let you know when all of the designs have been put up for public viewing and voting.

I also submitted an illustration for a local recreational education organization at UC Davis called The Experimental College. This place is so “Davis,” offering classes from meditation and dancing, to “Bread and Circus” (where you learn how to bake bread and do circus related things, like tumbling and slack-lining, while your dough rises). I crack up at how ridiculously wonderful it is to have a place that even thinks of classes like this. Every quarter, they put out an open call for illustrations for the front of their course catalog, so I gave it a try. I will let you know more about my drawing when the final selection gets made.

It is cool to keep finding more and more opportunities to illustrate. It’s like suddenly I openend my eyes, and now I’m constantly seeing opportunities. While none of these are a sure publication bet, it’s exciting to get more and more work out there.

Other than these illustration challenges, I’ve been working on some different patterns, like the one above which I call, “Stones,” and the one below, that I am titling, “Flowing.”

Sometimes I am torn about attaching titles to these pieces because it probably informs what people see in them, but I end up having to title them something to keep the computer files straight. Usually, something just comes to mind, and I just pass it forward.

What do you all think about this? How do you feel about “Untitled” works? If you’re an artist, how do you choose titles for your work? How does the title inform your perspective on a piece? What if, instead of “Flowing,” I left the drawing above untitled– would you see it differently?

Just some artistic musings. I think a lot about the influence of words and the integration of words and images (as you have probably already noticed).

Have a great mid-week! Do something special for yourself–today! It is Wednesday after all! Want some free or cheap ideas?? Go check out some good music from your public library (I currently have 3 swing CDs checked out), go to a big bookstore (preferably one with comfy chairs) and read all of your favorite magazines, go on a flower picking walk through a public or natural area, make homemade ice cream, have a picnic in the park, go jump in a lake, have a joke-telling contest or poetry reading.

1 Response to “Drawing away the day”


  1. 1 danaofthebells August 6, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    At the very least, I have a habit of titling works by the day which I finished them.

    Makes the sorting them in the computer far easier.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


