Writing Practice

As you may have noticed by now, if you have been reading my blog for a while, I like to write. It’s funny, I picked up blogging not really thinking about the writing aspect of it, but more for a place to put my art. It’s not until recently that I’ve realized that, maybe subconsciously, the idea of writing random thoughts for a wider audience than myself was really appealing to me. But I’m here today to talk about another type of writing I do, more like meditation than communication to other people: journaling.

“Keep a Journal” 8×10 inches, pen and ink

Journaling can have a bad reputation as some daily duty to get down everything you’ve done that day– like trying to keep a journal while on a vacation, but I got serious about journaling a couple years ago when I read a very well-known book called The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron. This is a pretty serious self-help book, but what is wrong with self-help? If we don’t help ourselves, who will?

Anyway, I will admit, this book changed my life, and I really mean it. I’m not a religious person, but beyond the spiritual aspect of this book, Cameron gives creative people concrete practices to tap into and trust their creativity and develop a life that supports their creative pursuits (instead of strangling them).

One of Cameron’s methods is daily journal writing, which she refers to as “morning pages.” She requires that anyone who makes a serious commitment to following the book (for the allotted 3 months) must write 3 pages, long-hand, every morning. I’ve been doing it ever since, with some small lapses in the year and a half since I picked the book up, and this practice continues to deepen my understanding of myself and help me deal with anything that comes my way. These pages are not about writing, they’re about dumping all of your worries out of your brain to make room for the good stuff. For me, this writing has become increasingly about choosing how I want to live each day.

Not surprisingly, I have included “Keep a Journal” as one of my How to Save the World series. I think that if we really take the time to know ourselves, we will be better able to create meaningful relationships and a meaningful life. I have put the print of this drawing up for sale in my shop too. Thanks for looking!

0 Responses to “Writing Practice”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


