Living Creatively

Last week, I harvested my first two zucchini. I mean first ever– last year the zucchini didn’t quite survive the aphids. These little squash were so perfect, I could have sworn someone had run to the supermarket, bought some zucchini and thrown them underneath my plants. I got such a thrill out of this– the fact that we had thrown some seeds in the ground and gotten these beautiful squash.

This, along with a conversation with Bit o’ Honey got me thinking about how many ways there are to be creative in daily life, outside of traditional art. Some of my favorites are cooking, baking, writing, gardening, dreaming, reading aloud, and thinking. What about you? How do you get creative in your day to day life? Here are 10 more ideas I came up with about how to . . .

1) Plant some seeds- preferably ones that will produce food.
2) Make up a new sandwich.
3) Bake a cake.
4. Take pictures of your daily life and create an album (digital or physical) for a friend or relative living far away.
5. Plan a food-themed party (pie party, dog days of summer feast, tomato luncheon, Ethiopian dinner).
6. Paint your mailbox or a sign for the outside of your house that says your address or a welcome greeting.
7. Enlarge and frame some favorite photos.
8. Hand-make a birthday, holiday, or just because card for someone you love.
9. Hand write a letter to someone you talk to all of the time or haven’t talked to in a long time.
10. Draw a note for yourself or someone else (for example: “meet you at the library at 6:30” might consist of a building plus a book, two stick figures, and a clock that reads 6:30)

1 Response to “Living Creatively”


  1. 1 jesseybean June 25, 2008 at 3:05 am

    Congrats on your veggies! I need to follow the list and do a few things.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 344 other followers

Archives


