Listen

Hello out there! I had big plans today for a post about living creatively, but my boyfriend ran off into the mountains with our shared digital camera, so it will have to wait until later (maybe tonight if he gets back early enough). But I did want to share a new drawing with you. This one is called “Listen,” and it’s another one from my How to Save the World series. I just put the print version up for sale in my Etsy Shop. [So far, I am only selling prints there as I figure out how I want to handle my shop, but please let me know if you are ever interested in buying an original or even a print of something you see here, but is not yet available in my shop.]

I think listening is so important. It’s so hard to listen sometimes, but I think listening (as opposed to talking) is the foundation of good communication. I struggle with this, especially with my closest relationships because sometimes I get so excited to tell people something, that I forget to listen to what they have to say.

I recently heard or read somewhere (wish I could remember where) that really listening to someone is about just listening, not trying to give your input. This advice was given in the context of how when we are “listening” to someone, we often feel the need to volunteer a story about a time we experienced something similar, instead of taking the time to really understand what someone is saying. This really hit me hard because I do this constantly. I’ve been trying to pay attention to this habit and realize there is a time and a place for everything.

On that note, I will stop talking and start listening to what you all have to say, with my pen and ink ears below and my open comment box on this blog! Let me know what you’re thinking out there!

“Listen” 8×10 inches

2 Responses to “Listen”


  1. 2 bluebicicletta June 23, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    Thanks for commenting. I thought about this while I was writing this post. I’m sure we have a very different interpretation of “listening” as far as ears are concerned, but it would seem that the concept of really paying attention to what people are trying to convey to you still applies.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


