A little bit of history

This is the view from my morning bike ride to work. I’ve been passing these bales of hay for two days now, wishing I had a camera. I finally remembered it today. You can see the University of California at Davis campus in the distance.

In case you didn’t know (and probably not many people do) UC Davis was originally set up as the farm school for UC Berkeley, way back in 1908, I believe (there will actually be a whole exhibit about UC Davis at the California State Fair this summer in honor of the centennial).

You can see the remnants of that history here, although you might call these remainders more than remnants– the UC Davis students are called “Aggies” (as in agriculture), and there is a very prominent emphasis on plant and food related majors as well as a world renowned Viticulture and Enology program (the study of wine and grapes), and vet medicine with emphases in large animals (as in horses).

I did not go to school here, but what an interesting school it is, which has a huge emphasis on the town of Davis. There’s such a large number of bike-riding, food-growing, environmentally conscious, smart people here. I love it!

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 344 other followers

Archives


