Sewing Silks

I went to an “Estate Sale” this weekend on a search for art materials and inspiration. It’s funny, the term “estate sale” just seems like a fancy name people use for a garage sale when they feel they have enough vintagey stuff for them to charge more money.

This Estate Sale was not so badly priced, and I have to admit, there was a greater density of interesting old stuff than at your average garage sale (but maybe that’s just because I happen to be a crafty type and it seems that the owner of this estate was as well).

I use the word “was” because the other detail of this estate sale (maybe estate sales in general) was that there wasn’t just a family moving, but someone died and this was all of her stuff. A local antique store was managing the sale, and there was mention of “the family.” It made me sad to see all of the beat up old things and even a box of family photos.

So, I resurrected this lovely little sewing kit. I’m not sure if you can see it below, but the ribbon in the lid reads “sewing silks,” which I just love– it sounds so luxurious. I find something so aesthetically pleasing about all of the different colors lined up, fitting inside the neat little box. I don’t sew a ton, but my practical voice reasoned that with all of the different colors, these threads would be great for mending! So I bought this little piece of colorful sewing heaven for the small price of $3.

1 Response to “Sewing Silks”


  1. 1 Era May 28, 2008 at 6:58 am

    Ooooh, I love it too. Also, an estate sale is always held after someone dies. It’s the sale of all items that the family doesn’t want. Sad, but usually a treasure trove, as you’ve discovered.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 344 other followers

Archives


