This is Your Brain on Worries

This week’s Illustration Friday word is “worry.” I almost had to laugh when I saw this word because I think I could be a professional worrier. In fact, I think worrying compulsively is hereditary because the only person I know who worries more than me, is my mom.

Anyway, I could not think of any better way to represent the abstractness of worries than with the abstract word itself. Worrying has much in common with fear– they are both very abstract, and they are survivors– they creep in EVERYWHERE.

As long as they are kept in the abstract, for example, worrying that you’re not good enough, worrying that you are a failure, worrying that you don’t have enough money, they win. If you start thinking very concretely, as in, this is how much money I need to make, this is what I need to do to pass the test, this is what I want to do with my life, often times worries go away. But if you let them win, this is your brain on worries:

1 Response to “This is Your Brain on Worries”


  1. 1 i. van Rossen November 26, 2009 at 2:32 am

    Dear Nicole,

    We’ve found your “worry” image on the internet and we want
    to use this image in a advertising campaign for our client.

    Can you send me a quote for a total buy-out of the image?

    We look forward to receiving your reply

    I. van Rossen
    trafficmanager at Pluspoint
    ilona.van.rossen@pluspoint.com

    Netherlands


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


