Art in the Desert

I went on a weekend trip back to Bishop, California, a small town at the base of the east side of Sierra Nevada Mountains, where I lived before coming to Davis. It is a beautiful area in the high desert with the mountains climbing right up from the desert floor. One of the places I wanted to revisit was a spectacular petroglyph site. I wanted to share the pictures with you because it is a truly inspirational place.

These petroglyphs are pretty well hidden. Up a steep dirt trail . . .

above a snaking river (there must have been a fire recently–notice the black) . . .

On top of a big rock that leans on another creating an upside-down “V” . . .

is a surface covered in drawings

that looks out on the mountains.

Underneath the petroglyphs is one of my favorite places to sit. I imagine a Paiute Indian sitting here appreciating the view.

2 Responses to “Art in the Desert”


  1. 1 Era April 11, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    That is totally awesome. Just as hard to find as I imagined from your story.

  2. 2 pixohammer April 19, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    Love these true-primitive drawings. The forms depicted by the simple lines are so creative. Thank you for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


