Opening Up

I find myself often drawing vessels and vases. I like triangles too; the upside down “V” shape has so much potential for holding things. I’ve been thinking a lot about vessels for the past several months because they have become my metaphor for my creative self or myself as an artist. Something about the openness, for things to enter and a container for collecting images. I imagine my chest as a giant “V” open to everything and always gathering.

vase.jpg

The feeling of being open, of letting ideas come into me, is exhilarating. When I am completely open and available for this wonder to happen, for creative energy to come to me, I am at my best.

I think that if you can figure out what activity or feeling makes you feel like this, you have found your destiny. Of course, nothing is magical all the time, but we all have these moments of being purely in ourselves, calm, thrilled, and heart overflowing all at the same time. When you figure out what you really love to do, you figure out what you are meant to do, because it is through doing what you love, that you can give to this world and everyone in it.

dreams.jpg

I think the word “dream” has become corrupted to often mean something far-fetched or silly. Something so ethereal that it’s not worth considering. But in the end, I think your dreams are the most real things you can experience because they lead you what you love.

0 Responses to “Opening Up”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


