On Creativity

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about being an artist lately, and what it takes to actually live your creative dreams. In thinking about this topic, and struggling with it everyday, I have been looking for a way to share what I have been reading, learning, and thinking.

Last night, I stumbled upon a blog called Creative Thursday written by a very creative and inspirational painter named Marisa. She has been making podcasts as a way of sharing what she learns and inspiring artists to follow their dreams. This idea inspired me and made me realize that one way I could share what I am learning is posting about it on this blog. From now on, I will be creating regular posts about the creative process with fun exercises to get you going. Here it goes.  

kite.jpg 

Last week, running with my dog Lance, I passed a young boy flying a kite with his mom. By some stroke of luck, just at the exact moment I was in ear-range, looking up at his kite rippling in the air, he exclaimed, “It is so beautiful! It is so beautiful up there!” What a wonder it is to be able to admire something so purely. I smiled to myself and thanked the world for letting me experience that moment of pure joy.

For some reason or another, we seem to lose this ability as we get older. Whether it is just life happening or us listening to everyone telling us to “grow up,” I’m not sure, but this is the seed of creative problems. Creativity is a pure and joyful act. I think, in order to let go, and make things for the pure fun of making (and therefore make what you truly should be making) means we need to let go of all of the “can’ts” and “shouldn’ts” of adult life and let ourselves have fun. Be a kid again.

I know it’s much easier said than done, but I believe this will make the difference between living a full and happy life of beauty and exploration and getting into the ruts and drudgery of the stereotypical adult life.

watermelon2.jpg

Here is an exercise I stumbled upon yesterday, when I was preparing for the poetry appreciation group I recently started. It is from a book called Poem Crazy by Susan Wooldridge. This is a great book full of stories, insights, and exercises. It’s geared towards poetry writing, but I think it is such an interesting exercise for any artist, especially visual artists because it creates so much visual imagery. 

Jot down and list the first thing you see when you ask yourself,

If I were a color, what color would I be?
(From red to the inside-of-a-watermelon-seed color.)
What shape would I be?
If I were a movement, what movement would I be?
What sound?
What animal?
What song?
What number? (infinity, googolplex, eight)
What car?
what piece of furniture?
What food?
What musical instrument?
What place?
What element in nature?
What kind of tree?
What’s something I’m afraid of?
What’s the word hiding behind my eyes?
Put down the words I am . . .

4 Responses to “On Creativity”


  1. 1 sherpeace March 30, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Interesting!

  2. 2 marty mc'clure March 31, 2008 at 1:26 am

    WHAT THE CATERPILLAR CALLS THE END OF THE WORLD, GOD CALLS A BUTTERFLY
    If you always think the way you’ve always thought, you’ll always get what you always got. The same old, same old ideas over and over again. The future belongs to those thinkers who embrace change, break new ground, forge new paths, and transform the way they think. Discover how to look at the same information as everyone else and see something different by using the creative thinking techniques and strategies that creative geniuses have used throughout history.
    Internationally acclaimed creativity expert Michael Michalko’s Thinkertoys: A Handbook of Creative Thinking Techniques have inspired business thinkers around the world to create the innovative ideas and creative strategies they need to achieve unimaginable success in today’s changing business environment of complexity and uncertainty. Change the way you look at things and the things you look at change.

    [Available at http://www.amazon.com, Barnes & Noble, and most major bookstores. Visit http://www.creativethinking.net for more detailed information.]

  3. 3 Era April 1, 2008 at 12:15 am

    Oh man, I love that image of the little boy and the yellow kite. The other day I was driving in my car, listening to this wonderful song about spring, and I saw a hill full of children rolling down down down, and giggling. My heart almost burst. I can’t wait for poetry night, and I love your homage to the cheeseburger!!


  1. 1 That Kite I Drew « blue bicicletta Trackback on August 19, 2009 at 7:21 pm

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

Archives


