Back to the Drawing Board

I’ve been feeling a little bit unproductive lately. I’m looking for a job, and unfortunately, no one has yet offered to pay me to do the things I really like to do like find books I like at the library, sit in the sun, pet my dog, and, oh yeah, make art. Not that I have actually asked anyone to pay me for these things . . . maybe that should be my new tactic.

“Excuse me, do you have any jobs available in dog petting? I don’t really want to help the animals or clean up after them, I would just like to pet them, preferably while sitting in the sun.” Asking someone to pay me to be creative feels about as hopeless sometimes.

Again, I haven’t actually tried that, but I suppose that’s why I’m studying graphic design . . . this is what one might call a tangent. 

Anyway, I have done some drawing, although I am still teaching myself to believe that it is time well spent because I feel like I  was not taught to value  the time I spend doing what I love as much as the time I spend making money. Yet another tangent. Here it is . . . I’m still working my way through “Gray’s Anatomy” (the book, not the TV series). It is a fascinating book, I’m not quite sure if I am stealing from the illustrator or reinventing his/her illustrations. 

head5.jpg

2 Responses to “Back to the Drawing Board”


  1. 1 sanz May 26, 2008 at 2:57 am

    love your lines..its poetic

  2. 2 Paul September 1, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    I cam across this post while studying MCAT anatomy tonight. I just wanted to say I really like the head illustration.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


