My first day as a blogger

Well, as you can see, this is my first day as a blogger. I’ve imagined many times what I would say in this first post but here I am, and I can’t remember one of the witty and clever things I thought of. Here’s a little bit about me . . . I’m an artist, crafter, and writer living in Davis, CA. I spent most of my undergraduate career studying literature and creative writing, and I have now finally gotten back to visual art. One of my main interests has been black and white photography, but I have recently gotten interested in printmaking, mixed-media art and collage, and I have always loved drawing and painting. I am also starting to take classes in graphic design, so hopefully some of my graphics will start to appear on this blog over the next few months.
I’m starting this blog as a place to start showing my art and making connections with other artists. It also has the extra added benefit of forcing me to make something so I have something to post. Here is one of the projects I have been working on recently.
Grandma Leta’s Garage Sale 1
This is the first part of a piece I am calling “Grandma Leta’s Garage Sale” –last Spring, my boyfriend’s grandmother moved out of her house into a senior living community, and I left her garage sale with a big box full of reject stamps. I got the idea for doing a monochromatic wall hanging from an interior design magazine that showed a monochromatic series of bottlecaps. It’s pretty fun to see the story of each stamp and then see how they all tie together through color. There will be nine panels in all when it’s finished. Since I’m new to blogging, please let me know how everything looks and works.

7 Responses to “My first day as a blogger”


  1. 1 sourtimes September 25, 2007 at 6:06 am

    Hello there! Everything looks fine :) Only the picture..is not clear enough! I bet it’s good though! Nice start!

  2. 2 bluebicicletta September 25, 2007 at 5:32 pm

    Thanks for checking out my blog! Just out of curiosity, how did you find it? I was having a little trouble with the picture, it looked different on my home computer. I will have to work on that.

  3. 3 sourtimes September 25, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    I searched for posts with tags art! So you have a reader! I have my blog 1 or 2 weeks and I am also trying to find my way with these things maybe you could take a pic of each collage.. And I m not sure if you did that but don’t post photos as thumbnails (at least those with details).. I hope I helped :)

  4. 4 Mike Skaug September 25, 2007 at 8:45 pm

    Looks wonderful! The photo looks good, but I would also link the thumbnail to a larger format version so that one could see all the interesting details in the stamps. It looks very professional. I love the title and the little phrase below it. How about a logo next to the title?

  5. 5 Era September 26, 2007 at 12:15 am

    Hey you! Blogger is much more user-friendly, and we talked about this today already. I don’t have to work to resize my photos or the format of the text, so I don’t think I’ll be much of a help on this one, sorry. I would love to see a bigger picture of the collages though, and I’m sure you’re working on it. I mean, I could also just come over and look at them . . .

  6. 6 zinnfandel September 29, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Hey! I like that collage. Wish I could see it closer tho, for all the detailed. And the three of them together look well too. Welcome to blogging by the way :)


  1. 1 In Appreciation of the Slow Build « blue bicicletta Trackback on February 2, 2010 at 4:22 pm

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


