Forget Hard Work : : Play is the Light

life_is_messy_idea_drawings_bluebicicletta

The past few days I’ve been struggling with myself about my creative work. I’ve been working on some writing for a while now, and I’ve reached an impasse—I can’t see how to make it right, make it whole, make it complete. And so I started thinking about and longing to do “good” work, work that is a real contribution, work that (dare I say it) makes me feel “successful” (whatever that elusive term means). And so today, with all of this jumble in my mind, this craving to be more, to do something “worthwhile,” I sat down at the computer to write. I typed aimlessly, I stared at the wall, I moved to my art desk and picked up a pencil, I prayed. But nothing much came of it. I felt frustrated and annoyed. And every time I thought I had a beginning, the mean bullies inside my head came up and shouted profanities at me.

Then I remembered an idea that had sprung up in my mind a couple of days ago, while standing at the library, and had made me smile—an idea that involved drawing words (like I have been known to do) about a theme I have been thinking about a lot lately: the messiness of life. As soon as I put my pencil to the paper, everything lightened up. I felt the glee of it: doing something that feels like play to me. Ideas just came rolling out, and I quickly filled a page. No hesitation—just pure, simple, honest; exactly what I had been trying to do all morning with few results.

It’s funny how often I forget this: the magic of play. “Play” is that feeling that comes when you’re doing what you love to do and you laugh the whole time because it’s so simply, effortlessly you. It’s natural. You can spend hours trudging up hills trying to be the person you want to be, do the work you think is valuable, and get nowhere. Then other times you feel light and things just flow and happen in a matter of minutes. In the first situation, you’re trying to be somebody, you’re taking things too seriously and trying to do serious work. In the second situation, you’re just playing around and so ideas, sensing there’s an opening, come to play too.

For all the efforts to do “good” work, the truth is: the most genuine expression of what you can give/create/share/do in your life happens when you’re playing. Forget hard work. Forget putting your nose to the grindstone. We all do plenty of that, and I suppose there is a time and a place for it. Play is where the real light is. When you play, you become light. Instead of thinking of it as a frivolous waste of time (as society might have you believe), what if play is how you most deeply connect with life and give what’s most honest and true? Spend even just a few minutes every day doing that, and you can’t go wrong. You’re expanding yourself and the world.

6 Responses to “Forget Hard Work : : Play is the Light”


  1. 1 c to c friendspirations January 22, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    Lately I have been working on my creativity too. I am reading a book called “Steal like an artist,” it mentioned that we must step back and use out hands (our fingers) then go back to the computer… What you said about playing makes total sense! I must remember to do that more often. -Cat

  2. 2 karen January 22, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    ahhhh, yes! so true! love this. I was just thinking about this today in another context: “find a new dentist” has been on my to-do list for two months, and every time I looked at it I just felt heavy and dull. so I ‘procrastinated’ (in quotes because I no longer resonate with that word or concept) until yesterday, when it suddenly seemed like the easiest thing in the world to do.

    I did a little research online, made a few calls, and my #1 choice had an opening the next day! so all in total it took about 15 minutes of my time, hardly any of my effort, and I was in the chair less than 24 hrs later.

    I really like waiting for stuff to line up organically rather than pushing and wasting my energy trying to force it (of course, pain or something wrong with my teeth would have eliminated the luxury of waiting as an option, but none o’ that was going on).

  3. 3 thoughtsontheatre January 22, 2013 at 5:55 pm

    Beautiful sentiment. I think so many of us feel like we have to churn out constant gold, but we forget to leave time for contemplation and mental rest. Love your commitment to finding the good through play!

  4. 4 Cheryl Racanelli January 23, 2013 at 6:30 am

    Very nice, a timely message. I’m at an impasse on a creative work, and I feel it’s my wish to create something “good” that’s getting in the way. Going to try again today with a lighter mindset of enjoying whatever comes from the process. Thank you.

  5. 5 Casa Mariposa January 25, 2013 at 1:30 pm

    So true! I think it’s important to not lose a sense of silliness and fun. It keeps us balanced and happy. :)

  6. 6 Charlie February 10, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    Work and play or really the same thing if you truly love what you are doing. I agree you really know that because on occasion it just makes you laugh.


Comments are currently closed.



Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer living in Boulder, Colorado, USA. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

See My Drawings

WIng Songs

Wide Heart

What Fall Feels Like

More Photos

THIS WORK WAS CREATED BY BLUE BICICLETTA

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 302 other followers

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 302 other followers

