Pandora’s Box

I’ve always been interested in the story of Pandora’s Box. I imagine Pandora with a big gift that she is just dying to open. When she finally does, the box is full of evils that fly out into the world except for the one little shy “hope” that stays inside. I imagine these evil things as words with wings and so from this and my interest in words and poems comes this next project I am entitling Pandora’s Box. The most interesting thing is that when I went to look up this myth before I made my painting, I found a lot more information than I thought I would. If you read this more well rounded interpretation of Pandora you may come to understand that over time and telling the image of Pandora has been changed from a life giving goddess figure to a pretty anti-feminist story.

Well, I wasn’t really intending to put so much mythology into this project, mainly it was an exercise in color and words and having fun painting with house paint. I have come to find out that I like shopping for art supplies at the hardware store. They often have scrap pieces of wood that you can buy for cheap (this 2 by 4 foot piece cost me only $6) and they even have reject paint that people have had mixed but decided not to take. I bought red, blue, and yellow sample sizes of house paint and mixed these colors as I pleased using some left over white I had at home from a wall touch up project.

words.jpg

wordsclose1.jpg

wordsclose2.jpg

I also wanted to share something very inspirational. On a recent post, I shared another blog made by Lisa Congdon but I wanted to share it here again because I think every artist would enjoy her latest post. She has started doing a weekly interiew with an artist she finds inspirational and her first one with Paul Octavious is really incredible.

3 Responses to “Pandora’s Box”


  1. 1 Era October 14, 2007 at 6:09 am

    Oh man, I loooooooove this. I really like to say the words in order in my head (and the ones on your sidebar). It’s really meditative, actually.

  2. 2 Nicole October 15, 2007 at 1:50 am

    Thanks- I was wondering if people would get that. I’m glad you like it.


  1. 1 Sound Drawings : : a little stop motion film « blue bicicletta Trackback on April 4, 2011 at 7:59 am
Comments are currently closed.



Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer living in Boulder, Colorado, USA. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

See My Drawings

WIng Songs

Wide Heart

What Fall Feels Like

More Photos

THIS WORK WAS CREATED BY BLUE BICICLETTA

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 315 other followers

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

